Frequently Asked Questions2021-01-03T15:33:42+00:00

Frequently asked questions

We get questions all the time about enterprise peer reviews. Here’s a selection of the most frequently asked and some answers. If you’ve got a further question or want to dig deeper, get in touch!

Are all enterprise review sites equal?2021-01-03T16:01:17+00:00

As you would expect, the main enterprise review sites are all different. Each has its advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, the answer in terms of the “best” site depends on what you are trying to achieve. The Playbook includes a SWOT on all the main vendors. And our results-based methodology helps identify the top peer review sites aligned to a client’s unique needs.

Are enterprise review sites really relevant?2021-01-03T15:57:24+00:00

We get asked this question all the time. And we answer it with data: the Playbook is the industry’s definitive collection of data related to the leading enterprise peer review sites. Some vendors are still in denial about peer review sites’ influence, but with inventories of enterprise solutions, services, and products now passing the one million mark, it’s time to believe. Another factor to highlight is that enterprise review sites score highly in organic search, which means the product or service’s first results may be the customer’s voice.

Are review sites really influencing enterprise buyers?2021-01-03T16:08:31+00:00

There’s a growing body of evidence to say yes, enterprise peer review sites are starting to influence buyers. We outline this in the Playbook. But there’s more: As well as looking for proof of their influence over buyers, CMOs are exploring the flipside – how sites can also provide valuable insights for vendors. The Playbook’s got that angle covered, too.

Are reviews genuine or written for cash in low-income countries?2020-10-25T08:52:14+00:00

The main review sites recognize that to be taken seriously by their target audience – enterprise buyers – reviews must be genuine and unbiased. Although there are still web forums that enthusiastically highlight the $10 or $25 gift vouchers from sites for providing a review, these bounties are only paid out for published reviews from validated, genuine reviewers.

Can I outsource my peer review program management to Destrier?2021-01-03T15:34:38+00:00

Yes! Destrier provides comprehensive peer review program management. Contact us for more details.

How big is the enterprise peer reviews business?2021-01-03T16:05:31+00:00

This is the big question that CMOs tend to ask. In other words, “do I need to consider allocating marketing budget to this?” The answer is an emphatic YES. The leading enterprise peer review sites attract venture capital investment as they build inventories running to hundreds of thousands of real-world reviews from enterprise technology buyers and users across thousands of categories – from ad tech through to yard management. Although they’re not all enterprise reviews, G2 just hit the one million reviews mark.

How can I persuade customers to spend time writing a review?2021-01-03T15:50:56+00:00

This is the big question! There is no single answer. Vendors have found the most success in integrating reviews into their ongoing customer interactions – rather than asking out of the blue. Vendors also see success in asking for reviews at trade shows and events. The review sites are also focusing on this question, with Gartner promising contributors the choice of three months’ of curated content for published reviews, instead of a $25 gift card.

How long does it take for a customer to write a review?2021-01-03T15:52:55+00:00

One common mistake is underestimating how much time it will take customers to write a review. Key reasons why customers fail to finish writing a review are that they’re unprepared for the depth of questions they’ll get asked and the time it will take to complete. Failing to prepare your customers by advising them of the time and content needed to provide a review worthy of publication is a frequent error. And it’s one of the core areas we focus on in the Playbook.

One of our customers wrote a review, but it was rejected. Why?2021-01-03T15:40:53+00:00

Destrier’s Playbook discusses why reviews are rejected, highlights the key reasons, and outlines strategies to reduce rejection rates.

Some of the most common reasons for rejection:

  • Not enough content
  • Unable to confirm the identity of the reviewer
  • Not an end-customer
  • Logically inconsistent answers
  • Content copied from somewhere else – plagiarism
To fast track my reviews, should we ask partners and suppliers to create reviews?2021-01-03T15:38:08+00:00

Stop! It’s a terrible idea. Identifying the reviewer as an end customer is an important step taken by all the main sites. Anyone who checks the “partner” or “supplier” category will see their review unequivocally rejected. Don’t even try it!

What about the question of trust? Aren’t these reviews all biased?2020-10-25T08:49:52+00:00

Vendors taking a serious look at peer reviews in the enterprise tend to raise the thorny question of trust – while customers are suspicious that all reviews are pay-to-play. There are always some bad apples, but most enterprise reviews are legitimate. We’ve got the inside story on the question of trust – and highlight how the surge in popularity for peer review sites is making it much harder for vendors to cherry-pick reviews from “biased” reviewers.

What does the Playbook cover?2021-01-03T16:03:26+00:00

Destrier’s Peer Reviews Playbook provides strategies for starting, growing, and winning with the big four enterprise peer review sites. It covers everything from policies to inventories, and from categories to compatibility with marketing automation sites. Overall, the Playbook covers 13 different areas and includes a selection of case studies. It’s backed by a comprehensive database of comparative data, making it the indispensable guide for marketers.

When’s the best time to ask a customer for a review?2021-01-03T15:47:46+00:00

There is no time like now – time to start building up your reviews inventory. This doesn’t happen overnight, but with focused effort, it’s easily possible for vendors to begin registering on reviews charts in three months or less. Since a 12-month “shelf life” is starting to become the default for reviews, every vendor must keep up the reviews flow.

Go to Top